Bridges in Venice
Nonetheless, such an innovative structure in a city where tradition and ancient architecture are so important couldn't but raise a rather heated debate, also questioning the money spent in that work.
However the bridge has been largely acknowledged by now and it has become a further attraction offered by Venice to its visitors.
Ponte dei Sospiri
"Ponte dei Sospiri " (Bridge of Sighs) was built in the 16th century. The enclosed bridge is made of white limestone and has windows with stone bars. It connects the old prisons with the rooms of the Doge's Palace where prisoners were interrogated.
The name was given by Lord Byron in the 20th century, refering to the prisoner's last sigh, upon their last look at Venice, before they were taken down to their cells.
Today, the "Bridge of Sighs" is very popular among young lovers. According to a local legend, if they kiss under the bridge in a gondola at sunset, they are guaranteed eternal love.
Ponte di Rialto
Ponte di Rialto is the oldest and most famous Venetian bridge.
It crosses the Grand Canal. It was first built in 1181 by Nicolò Barattiere and called "Ponte della Moneta".
Later, in 1250, the bridge was rebuilt in wood.
It was closely connected to the market; since then it has been named the "Ponte di Rialto".
In 1310 it partly burnt down after a revolt led by Bajamonte Tiepolo. About a century later (1444), the bridge collapsed due to the weight of a crowd that was watching a boat parade.
In 1503 the Doge proposed building the bridge out of stone; famous architects like Palladio, Sansovino and Vignola presented their ideas for the bridge, but they were considered unsuitable.
The present bridge was built by Antonio del Ponte in 1591. It's very similar to the former wooden bridge: there is a central portico and two inclined ramps in which many shops are located.
Ponte degli Scalzi
The Ponte degli Scalzi (Bridge of the Barefoot) is one of the three bridges which cross the Grand Canal. It was designed by Eugenio Miozzi and was finished in 1934, as a replacement for an Austrian iron bridge.
It connects the "Sestieri" of Santa Croce with Cannaregio. North of Cannaregio, there are the Chiesa degli Scalzi and the railway station. In the South, in Santa Croce, there is the Piazzale Roma bus station .
Ponte dell'Accademia is next to the Accademia galleries and crosses the Grand Canal, just like the Rialto Bridge and the Bridge of the Barefoot.
It was built in 1854.The first bridge to be located here was designed by Alfredo Neviani, but this was replaced with a wooden one. Afterwards, even this was demolished and was replaced in 1985 with the present bridge.