tagtop2

Ca' d'Oro

Ca' d'Oro

Ca d'Oro, Grand Canal, Venice

Photo credits

The name of this magnificent gothic palace means "Golden House" in Venetian, as its facade was originally covered in gold. Although the gold has gone, the name still represents the majesty of this historic building rising from the Grand Canal.

The Ca’ d’Oro, a palace overlooking the Grand Canal, represents the most exceptional and most complete example of a typical gothic building; the present building is the result of several modifications made throughout the centuries.

The origins of Ca’ d’Oro are very uncertain and there exist several different theories to explain its name:

  • Official sources tell that the building was built in the 1420’s – 1440’s and was commissioned by Mario Contarini, a rich merchant who appointed Matteo Raverti and Giovanni and Bartolomeo Bon to decorate the palace.
  • Another theory is that the palace owes its name to the gilded ornaments that once were on the facade. The little lions decorating the roof still show traces of these ornaments.
  • A third theory says that the Ca’ d’Oro takes its name from the Doro, the rich family who lived in the second half of the XIV century and who commissioned the construction of the palace.

What is certain is that over its many years, the Ca’ d’Oro came into the hands of several families and underwent internal changes that caused great degradation. Around the end of the XIX century the building was bought by the Russian Alessandro Troubezkoi. The engineer Giovanni Meduna was appointed to restore the palace. He decided, according to his personal taste, to enlarge and modify it without a clear and sensible project.

In 1894 the palace was bought by Giorgio Facchetti who did his best to restore Ca’ d’Oro’s internal style. Facchetti decided to exhibit his own art collection in the building. It houses paintings from Veneto and Tuscany, sculptures, antique furniture, tapestries, precious Venetian ceramics and much more. Since 1916, the Facchetti collection has received constant financial aid from the Italian State.

The Ca’ d’Oro is a small, but unique building, thanks to its amazing decoration. The facade is asymmetrical. Each floor has one single loggia. The palace has pinnacles and tunnels of a clear oriental style which give the facade the appearance of lace.


Useful Information
Address: Cannaregio 30126
Phone: 041 5222349
Hours: Mondays 8:15am – 2:00pm, Tuesday – Sunday 8:15am – 7:15pm
(The ticket office closes 30 minutes before the closing of the museum)
Closed every 1st of January, 1st of May, 25th of December

Museums Reservations: reserve your ticket museum to visit to the Ca' d'Oro - Franchetti Gallery

How to get there: line 1 (Ca’ d’Oro)

You are here: Home To See & To Do What To See in Venice MonumentsMonuments in Venice: Cannaregio Ca' d'Oro

Gondolas, canals, lights and colors ... this is Venice, the ancient city on the water, known worldwide for its architectural beauty and its mysterious and romantic atmosphere.

Newsletter

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Policy.

I accept cookies from this site